The Security section of the Admin Tab allows users to change user role settings, modifying which features of the software each role can access.
- To access the security tab, begin by clicking on the Admin Button, located at the top-right of the user interface. Doing so will add the Admin Tab to your active tabs. (Figure 1)
- Once the Admin Tab is open, click on the Security Tab to open the security options. (Figure 2)
- The default User Roles are Administrator, Preparer, and Developer. However, custom User Roles can be added by clicking on the New Role drop-down menu. (Figure 3)
- New roles can be set to contain the same options as existing roles. To do so, click the "Based On" drop-down list and select the existing User Role you would like to base your new role on. (Figure 4)
- To modify options for an existing user role, begin by clicking on the User Role you would like to modify (The Administrator User Role cannot be modified, as the Administrator User Role has full access to all features.) This will bring up a checklist of permissions. To add or remove a permission from a User Role, simply click on the Check Boxes next to the permissions. Permissions with a check mark will be applied to the User Role, according to the permission description. (Figure 5)
- Labels can be added to User Roles to allow or prevent specific users from viewing returns marked by a specific user-defined label. Labels added to a User Role will only be visible to that role. To add a Label to a User Role, click on the Add Label drop-down menu to the right of the Permissions checklist and select the Label you would like to add. (Figure 6)
- Once all desired changes have been made to a User Role, click on the Save Button located in the bottom-right of the user interface. This will save all changes to a User Role, and must be done before switching to a different user role. If a different User Role is selected before changes have been saved, those changes will be lost. (Figure 7)